A Rut in the Snow

I have to admit it: I'm in a rut.

Thank goodness for the rut I’m in.  A rut is just as good as a tire track to walk in. And, since this rut is in my side yard, it’s a pretty good rut to be in.

That’s not to say that all ruts are good.  Like the little routine They have of leaving me all by myself in the middle of the day.  To go to the gym.  Which is just down the street from where We live. What a rut!

I know, I know.  I’m spoiled rotten.  And I’m VERY LUCKY to have Them at home with me every day.  Make that: day in and day out.  That’s kind of like a rut, too, I guess.

Know what? Since They work at home, We don’t have snow days.  Like not having to go to school.  Stuff like that.  (Actually, where We live, they close schools if snow is just mentioned on the news.  “Quick!  Go out and buy milk, bread and eggs!  Somebody mentioned snow!” Good grief.  I don’t even eat milk, bread and eggs.)

I’m kind of getting used to this snow thing.  And the ruts I have to walk in.  That’s a good thing because I don’t think We’re done with the white stuff!  BREAKING NEWS: Can you believe it snowed here AGAIN? We woke up this morning to MORE snow.  And I came in with MORE snow clods on my feet just a minute ago.

What You Learned Today:

  • Don’t tell me dogs don’t remember things.  That’s not true at all.  It didn’t take me long to figure out how to navigate in the snow every time They take me out for walks in the stuff.  I’m not stupid.
  • Speaking of my memory…. I must say I’ve endeared myself to Her even more.  If that’s possible.  Picture this:  We come in from walking in the snow.  I see the towel at the door.  She goes to wipe my feet and – here’s where it gets good! – I carefully raise each foot up so She can wipe the snow off.  Every time We come in from a wet walk.  Talk about being a GOOD BOY!  You should see the treats I get!  Tee Hee! She’s just so impressed that I remember Our little drills.  (Honestly, you’d think I’m as dumb as a post the way She acts.)
  • When you repeat things, we have a tendency to remember them.  Just like my trainer, Miss Kathy, says: repetition is key.  (And Scotties take to training and feet wiping pretty well I must say.)

About The Scottie Chronicles

Winston welcomes you to The Scottie Chronicles - a blog that began in 2009 as a voice for Stuart, a more than memorable black, brindle and white Scottish Terrier who captured hearts around the world. Stuart passed suddenly in December 2015 from cardiac hemangiosarcoma, a nasty cancer that took him far too early. If you love Scotties, please follow along. Arroooo!
This entry was posted in Scotties, Scottish Terriers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Rut in the Snow

  1. Bonnie says:

    That’s a good rut to be in, hanging out everyday with your peeps. The snow looks like fun! I’d love to try it myself someday.

    sniffies,
    Bonnie

    Like

  2. We’re in the same rut, Stuart, with our hoomans being home all the time and we love it! Life could be worse, right?
    We got dumped on yesterday too! whooooooohoooooooo

    Love ya lots,
    Maggie and Mitch

    Like

Go ahead...Bark Out Loud! ArroOOOO!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.